Neuroscience Ireland, August 28/29, 2008


Please note online registration has now closed.

On behalf of Neuroscience Ireland and the local organising committee, it is an honour to welcome you all to attend the second Neuroscience Ireland Conference on August 28th and 29th 2008, to be held in NUI Galway. This conference will bring together leading neuroscientists, post-doctoral researchers and graduate students to present and discuss their latest research.

Our very successful inaugural Neuroscience Ireland meeting was held in University College Cork in 2006, bringing together neuroscientists from all over Ireland. In our 2008 conference, all aspects of neuroscience will be discussed, highlighting in particular the fields of Neurodegeneration, Neuroregeneration, Pain, Psychopharmacology and Glial Biology.  Our comprehensive scientific programme will include two plenary sessions with world renowned researchers, five sessions including talks from invited international and national speakers, two poster sessions and oral presentations from selected posters.

Please note these key dates for registration. More details on how to register can be found on the registration pages. Accepted abstracts will be published in the Irish Journal of Medical Science.

Online registration has closed.


We will accept on site registrations on the morning of the conference at our welcome desk.

Please note registration costs will increase by €100 for on-site registration.


Conference dates          28/29th August 2008

Dr Karen Doyle,
Chairperson local organising committee for 2nd Neuroscience Ireland conference.
Department of Physiology, Email:

Local organising committee

Dr Dara Cannon (Department of Psychiatry)
Dr Paula Cunnea (NCBES)
Dr Eilís Dowd (Department of Pharmacology & Therapeutics)
Dr David Finn (Department of Pharmacology & Therapeutics)
Dr Una Fitzgerald (NCBES)
Dr Adrienne Gorman (Department of Biochemistry)
Dr John Kelly (Department of Pharmacology & Therapeutics)
Caitríona Martyn (Department of Psychology)
Dr Brian McGuire (Department of Psychology)
Dr Siobhan McMahon (Department of Anatomy)