Economics of Cancer Research Symposium, 2nd September 2013
Symposium Program

Economics of Cancer Research Group Symposium

Monday 2nd September 2013 Bailey Allen Hall NUI Galway


8.15-9.00:      Registration

9.00-9.15:      Opening Address: Dr James Browne (President of NUI Galway)

9.15-9.30:      Introduction Remarks: Dr Michael McBride (Chief Medical Officer Northern

                     Ireland) & Representative Department of Health and Children

9.30-9.45:      Professor Ciaran O'Neill (Dean of School of Business, Public Policy and Law NUI


9.45-10.30:    Dr Robin Yabroff (National Cancer Institute, USA)

                    Cancer care costs and resources in the United States

10.30-11.15:  Dr Mauro Laudicella (Imperial College London, UK)

                     Costing the cancer care pathway: Potentials for new research in England

10.50-11.00:   Tea & Coffee

11.30-12.15:   Dr Anirban Basu (University of Washington, USA)

                     Prostectomy versus Watchful Waiting among elderly patients with clinically

                     localized Prostate Cancer: Exploring heterogeneity in survival effects

12.15-1.00:   Professor Bengt Jonsson (Stockholm School of Economics, Sweden)

                     Personalized medicine in Cancer Treatment in Europe

1.00-2.00:     Lunch

2.00-2.30:       Professor John Fitzpatrick (Irish Cancer Society)

                     Patient Centred Cancer Research in Ireland

2.30-3.00:       Dr Linda Sharp (National Cancer Registry Ireland)

                     Cancer data and resources for research

3.00-3.15:       Coffee

3.15-3.45:       Professor Michael Kerin (NUI Galway)

                     Application of Health Economics in Cancer Policy in Ireland

3.45-4.45:       Open Discussion: Moderator Professor Charles Normand (Trinity College Dublin)

                     Theme: Future application of economics in Cancer research

4.45-5.00:        Closing Remarks: Dr Anne Cody (Health Research Board)

Chairs: Professor Ciaran O'Neill (NUI Galway); Professor Eamon O'Shea (NUI Galway); Professor Frank Sullivan (NUI Galway); Dr Anna Gavin (Queens University Belfast)